Bitte oder Registrieren, um Beiträge und Themen zu erstellen.

A Strange Occurrence

While I cannot remember the name of the human opponent I played against when playing Fleet Battle the other day, the movements and choices made by them were puzzling to say the least.

As you know the object of the game is to seek out and find your opponent's ships before you do. But how about this ?

I started playing and realized my opponent wasn't hitting my own ships. This in itself was not too puzzling but it became so as the game continued.

So in my own curiosity I started deliberately hitting where I knew the remaining ships would never be - and it continued - and continued !

When I had just about shot every pip that was left on the board, finally my opponent, hit one of my ships, but only because there were no other free pips !

I quickly hit all of my opponent's targets and won the game.

Yet ... what are the odds that my opponent would absolutely miss hitting every single one of my ships even to filling up the entire board which by laws of probability is impossible. SOMETHING intervened yet I don't know what.

Has this sort of thing ever happened to you ?

. . .

Ich kann mich zwar nicht an den Namen des menschlichen Gegners erinnern, gegen den ich neulich beim Spielen von Fleet Battle gespielt habe, aber die Bewegungen und Entscheidungen, die sie getroffen haben, waren gelinde gesagt rätselhaft.

Wie Sie wissen, besteht das Ziel des Spiels darin, die Schiffe Ihres Gegners zu suchen und zu finden, bevor Sie es tun. Aber wie wäre es damit?

Ich fing an zu spielen und stellte fest, dass mein Gegner nicht meine eigenen Schiffe traf. Das war an sich nicht allzu verwirrend, aber es wurde so, als das Spiel weiterging.

Also fing ich in meiner eigenen Neugier an, absichtlich dort zuzuschlagen, wo ich wusste, dass die verbleibenden Schiffe niemals sein würden – und es ging weiter – und weiter!